I may be in danger of alienating some readers here, but I really don’t see the appeal of remixes.  I know a decent proportion of you will have been directed here from The Hype Machine – where remixes seem to be quite popular – so I guess a fair few of you are remix-connoisseurs, but I just don’t understand it myself.  Now don’t get me wrong, a good remix can be an enjoyable listening experience, but stumbling upon the mythic beast that is a “good remix” is a very uncommon occurrence.  It seems to me that 99% of them are just plain rubbish.  Of course, the joy of being a music blog is that I can bombard you with examples of both good and bad remixes, and I certianly intend to do just that…

The Good Remix

In my eyes a good remix builds on the foundation of a good track and creates a complimentary companion to the original.  Most of the good remixes I’m aware of can stand alone as musical works in their own right, but even with the really good ones you’re only getting half the picture.  To make a remix is to make a work that is inextricably tied to another piece of work; a musical Castor and Pollux.  A good remix from a bad song can be interesting as an academic speculation, but is ultimately as redundant an exercise as a bad remix from a good song (and this is where remixes differ from cover versions; a good cover version from a bad song can be a wondrous achievement).

There are many exponents of the “good remix”; artists from Four Tet to The Postal Service have delivered sterling work in this field, most notably with Kings of Convenience and Feist respectively, but for now I will focus on the Miyauchi Yuri remix of Jeremy Warmsley‘s track If He Breaks Your Heart (full info here).  This remix does butcher the harmonic content of the song by flattening it beyond belief, but even that is a defensible artistic choice.  The sparse, angular substance of J-Wo’s original acoustic version is morphed into a lush soundscape by the remixer, but crucially the body of the song remains intact – it’s a song with a definite arc and a “message”*, and both are sill in evidence in the remix.  You can listen to the remix and still glean the essence of the original whilst at the same time enjoying a wholly new musical experience.

Jeremy Warmsley – If He Breaks Your Heart (acoustic)

Miyauchi Yuri – If He Breaks Your Heat (remix)

The Bad Remix

As I’ve already established, these appear to be much thicker on the ground than good remixes, and the choices for a salient example are legion.  Excellently named BbopNRokstedy[sic**] have the unlucky distinction of being the most recent act to drop a remix in my inbox.  This one is a remix of Phoenix‘s excellent track 1901, from their 2009 album Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix.  I’m a bit of a latecomer to the Phoenix party (I finally got around to listening to W.A.P. after their inclusion in The Hype Machine’s 2009 Zeitgeist earlier this month) so you won’t find a full review here at EbM, but suffice it to say the record’s a triumph.Alas the same cannot be said for the remix…

Here the relationship between original and remix is very slender indeed; it appears that BbopNRokstedy, in their infinite wisdom, have simply cut a couple of brief snippets from the vocal of 1901 and then sampled them repeatedly over a godawful dance track.  Any trace of the original’s structure or arc has been thoroughly removed, and that this outfit have the gall to call this abomination a “remix” beggars belief.  Now I realize I’m beginning to sound somewhat vitriolic at this point, but then that’s the very reason I’m writing this post.  This kind of behaviour really annoys me***; I really enjoy listening to a good remix, but there’s no way of telling if a remix is going to be any good or not other than by actually listening to the thing.

But of course there is, really.  There’s at least a 99% chance that a remix is going to unlistenably terrible, and with those odds it’s far better to simply steer clear of of them altogether…

Phoenix – 1901

BbopNRokstedy – 1901 (remix)

*I know, I know; I’ll let you make your own minds up on that front…

**Well, the thought behind the name is excellent, even if the execution is appalling.

***almost as much as an American spell checker that seems to have forgotten the point of “…our” – color, flavor, and behavior are not words!